Krists Auznieks is a New York based Latvian composer. His quintet “Piano” was featured in The New York Times among the week’s best classical music moments. His opera NeoArctic, co-written with British techno producer Andy Stott, won Danish Reumert Prize and had its US premier at The Kennedy Center in 2019.

Recent commissions include works for Atlanta Symphony, choral pieces for Capella Amsterdam and Latvian Radio Choir, a guitar concerto for Sinfonietta Riga, a percussion concerto for Jisu Jung, works for New York based new music ensembles Amalgama, Unheard-Of, and a work for LA based Kaleidoscope Chamber Orchestra.

Auznieks’ music has been performed at The Walt Disney Concert Hall (Los Angeles), The Royal Danish Theatre, Beijing National Arts Centre, Shanghai City Theatre, Amsterdam’s Muziekgebouw, The Southbank Center (London), Théâtre Maisonneauve (Montreal), The Kitchen (NYC), National Sawdust (NYC), Chassé Theater (The Netherlands), Cultuurcentrum Hasselt (Belgium), Théâtre De Nîmes (France) and featured in Gaudeamus Muziekweek (Holland), Aspen Music Festival, American Music Festival (Albany, NY), MATA 2017 (NYC), Arctic Arts Festival (Norway), UNESCO International Rostrum of Composers in Finland, European Capital of Culture Aarhus 2017 Festival (Denmark), and Chelsea Music Festvial (NYC). He has worked with Sarasota Orchestra, Sandbox Percussion (NYC), David Kweksilber Big Band (Holland), Antico Moderno (Boston), Yale Philharmonia, Orkest de Ereprijs (Holland), pianists Robert Fleitz and David Fung, guitarist Jiji, and percussion virtuoso Jisu Jung.

Auznieks_photo by Girts Ragelis 2.jpg

Recent works include Crossing for orchestra, commissioned by Aspen Music Festival and Robert Spano, premiered by Aspen Philharmonic Orchestra and Patrick Summers, as well as works for Latvian Radio Choir, Albany Symphony musicians (NY), Yale Percussion Group, and two massive concert-length works for Contemporaneous (NYC) and Sinfonietta Riga (Latvia).

Currently pursuing doctorate at Yale School of Music with Aaron Jay Kernis. David Lang, Chris Theofanidis, Hannah Lash, and Martin Bresnick, his most recent recognitions include Jacob Druckmann Prize from Aspen Music Festival, Latvian National Grand Music Award for the best new work of the year, The Woods Chandler Memorial Prize from Yale, fellowships from Aspen Music Festival, NEXT Festival of Emerging Artists (NYC), Bennington Chamber Music Conference, and Norfolk Chamber Music Festival, winning works at Sarasota Orchestra Earshot, The Chicago Ensemble’s Discover America XI, and Kaleidoscope Chamber Orchestra competitions. He has served on the faculty of Yale School of Music as a Lecturer of Ear-Training and Analysis and has also taught for NY Philharmonic's Very Young Composers Program.


Sarasota Orchestra Earshot

Auznieks wins Sarasota Orchestra Earshot. His piece “Crossing“ will be performed by the orchestra in Sarasota in March, 2019.


NeoArctic at The Kennedy Center

NeoArctic will have its US premier at The Kennedy Center. There will be four performances (Feb 12-16).

Screen Shot 2019-01-09 at 7.39.00 PM.png

Latvian Grand Music Award

Auznieks wins The Latvian Grand Music Award. It was awarded for his evening-length “Fire and Rose“ as the best new work of the year. The piece was commissioned by Sinfonietta Riga.


Jacob Druckman Prize

Auznieks receives Jacob Druckman Prize from Aspen Music Festival.


Norfolk Chamber Music Festival Fellowship

Auznieks receives a fellowship for the Chamber Music Festival 2018. His piece “Brass“ for the Maverick Brass Quintet will be premiered as a part of the festival.